Home » Construction Lien Law » Archive by category "ARKANSAS"

Recording a Lien in Jefferson County, Arkansas

Recording a Lien in Jefferson County, Arkansas:

Arkansas state law mandates that a Notice of Intent to File a Claim of Lien must be served to the Owner and Contractor at least 10 days before the Claim of Lien can be recorded.

Jefferson County requires a Verified Statement of Account to be included with the Statement of Lien, as well as a copy of the Notice of Intent. One nice thing is that the $8.00 recording fee is a flat rate, no matter how many pages are recorded. Checks are made payable to Jefferson County Circuit Clerk, and they accept out-of-state business checks.

Liens are usually recorded the same day they are received. The county keeps the original copies, so be sure to include an extra copy of the lien and a self-addressed stamped envelope. The copy will be returned to you the next day after recordation. (Liens are not viewable on their website at this time.)

The deadline to Record the Claim of Lien is within 120 days of your last day on the project, Liens must be perfected within 15 months of the recording of the Lien.

ARKANSAS gets new notices, custom template technology (CTT)

I spent six hours in Little Rock back in 1989 as part of a business trip that started in Chicago and ended in Kansas City.  At that point in life I had not flown in small commuter propeller driven airplanes much.  As we landed, I never will forget how close we seemed to the treetops that were in the landing pattern path to the Little Rock National Airport.  I hope the amount of people flying has increased enough since then next time I fly into Little Rock the jet, not propeller plane is a bit larger.

I just finished entirely writing for PreLien2Lien thirty-two (32) new notices for the state of ARKANSAS. They also have (CTT) Custom Template Technology, enabling each template notice to be customized for a one-time $50 fee.

Sucontractor’s have two 1st notices to be aware of. For Residential projects, ARKANSAS Code Annotated §18-44-115 mandates that a Preliminary Notice To Owner (Residential) must be served to the Owner of a residential property being improved before labor or materials are provided for the improvement of the property. Delivery should be made in person or by Certified Mail. The Owner’s signature on the Notice should be obtained – the signature on the Certified Mail Return Request green card will legally be accepted.

For Commercial projects, ARKANSAS Code Annotated §18-44-115 mandates that a Preliminary Notice To Owner (Commercial) must be served to the Owner and General/Prime Contractor of a commercial, non-residential property being improved within seventy-five (75) days after labor or materials are provided for the improvement of the property.

Subcontractors (Private Projects): ARKANSAS Code Annotated §18-44-114 mandates that a Notice Of Intent To File A Lien Claim must be sent by Subcontractors via Certified Mail to the Owner(s) and Owner Agent of the improved property at least ten (10) days prior to filing a Verified Statement Of Account And Claim Of Lien.

General/Prime/Sub Contractors (Private Projects): ARKANSAS Code Annotated §18-44-117 mandates that a Verified Statement Of Account And Claim of Lien can be recorded at any time up to one hundreed twenty (120) days after providing labor or materials for a project. It is recorded at the Circuit Clerks office in the county where a project you provided construction related labor, services, equipment or materials is located.

Categories

Tags

Archives