Home » Archive by category "Uncategorized"

Recording a CA Mechanics Lien in Contra Costa County

Recently a family owned HVAC business asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a California Mechanics Lien in Contra Costa County. It is a suburban northern California County located in the East Bay region east of San Francisco and Oakland.

Fees to record are as follows. $14.00 first page, $3.00 each additional page of 8-1/2″ x 11″ paper. $3.00 additional per page of 8-1/2″ x 14″ paper. A required fee that must be also added is a $3.00 mandatory Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Fund fee. Thus your typical lien should be $20 to record.

The actual time if mailed for recording is the same day received. It is 1-2 weeks after recordation to view indexing information on their website. The original document will be mailed back 6-8 weeks after recordation. A conforming copy of the original document can be sent the next business day after recordation. There is no extra fee if you include an additional copy of the notice and an additional Self Addressed Stamped Envelope. Indicate that you are requesting a conforming copy.

Recorded liens can not be viewed on their website.

As always, questions prior to recording a lien should be made by phone with the Contra Costa County Clerk-Recorders Office. Hours of operation are Monday – Friday, 8AM – 4PM PST. Phone number to call is (925) 335-7910.

Advisory not to use AVAST Free Antivirus

Getting AVAST Free Antivirus for your PC can create serious computer and business problems that should never happen. This antivirus program has a “sandbox” feature that is designed to quarantine or uninstall legitimate software the worldwide AVAST Antivirus user base is deemed “not to use significantly”. This is fine if you are using iTUNES. Out of 17 million woldwide AVAST users, a significant portion will have iTUNES installed on their PC, so any version of iTUNES will be deemed safe. However, if you purchased a legitimate, niche software program that is the best in it’s category like PreLien2Lien or hypthetical examples like MyGolfHandicap, WhereToFish, etc…. AVAST will quantify it as a virus because a significant portion of it’s 17 million user base does not use it or malicious virus programs are generally new with obscure names.

avastsandbox

Most average PC users are not going to understand from the ACTIONS drop down menu what to do next – “Open in sandbox.” Furthermore, the internet is loaded with posts from frustrated users that document that AVAST pays no attention to the “Remember my answer for this program” setting.

If you don’t want to pay $29 for an antivirus program to not only protect your PC but also your business, the hands down best free antivirus program available is MICOROSFT Security Essentials. Unlike AVG Free Antivirus, it does not put an advertising message on all your emails. Download the free software at this link first – http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5201 – and save where you can find it to install. Next, uninstall AVAST from your Windows XP (Control Panel/Add/Remove Programs) or VISTA/WINDOWS 7/WINDOWS 8 PC (Computer/Uninstall or change a program). Then run the MICROSOFT Security Essentials install program. Not only will PreLien2Lien work flawlessly forever, you can enjoy once again stress free use of your MyGolfHandicap and WhereToFish software.

Must use a Process Server to serve the required MISSOURI Notice Of Intent To File Mechanic’s Lien Statement

MISSOURI is one of a handful of states that require a warning notice be delivered to an Owner as a prerequisite to recording a construction lien. To make things more complicated, with an added cost, MISSOURI Revised Statutes § 429-100 states that “Every person except the original contractor, who may wish to avail himself of the benefit of the provisions of sections 429.010 to 429.340, shall give ten days’ notice before the filing of the lien, as herein required, to the owner, owners or agent, or either of them, that he holds a claim against such building or improvement, setting forth the amount and from whom the same is due. Such notice may be served by any officer authorized by law to serve process in civil actions, or by any person who would be a competent witness. When served by an officer, his official return endorsed thereon shall be proof thereof, and when served by any other person, the fact of such service shall be verified by affidavit of the person so serving.”

To translate this – draft up your MISSOURI Notice of Intent to File Mechanic’s Lien Statement using PreLien2Lien or contract with TRADITION NOTICE SERVICES. If your project was in or around St. Louis, and you are handling this yourself, contact a reputable Process Server company like PRO SERVE at (314) 961-2222. For $60, they will serve your notice on the Owner, and make sure that you are in compliance with the MISSOURI Revised Statutes § 429-100.

One other issue to remember for MISSOURI is that while you have 6 months to record a Mechanic’s Lien Statement with a required 10 day warning notice, it is NOT 6 months PLUS 10 days. The entire lien process is limited to 6 months from the LAST date equipment, labor, materials or services are furnished for a project. Our conservative opinion is always to be proactive and send the warning notice at some point after 90 days but before the fifth month. Negotiated settlements or business disputes can cause enough of a delay to put you right up against the 6 month deadline to record a Mechanic’s Lien Statement.

Recording a VIRGINIA Memorandum For Mechanic’s Lien Claim in Virginia Beach, VA

A General Contractor contacted our TRADITION NOTICE SERVICES lien service division regarding a project where they completed water damage repair on a vacation home in Virginia Beach, VA. They had not received the balanced owed on the job, and the homeowner is not returning the contractor’s calls.

While there are dozens of counties in Virginia, the City of Virginia Beach is its own public entity – they are not in any of the counties. Virigina construction liens are recorded by the City of Virginia Beach Clerk of the Circuit Court.

In Virginia, a construction lien is called a “Memorandum for Mechanic’s Lien”. The Virginia Beach Clerk’s Office usually records the lien claims the same day they are received. In addition to the street address of the property, the Clerk’s Office requires the “GPIN” (GIS Parcel Identification Number) which is the same as the property’s Tax ID Number. Once recorded, the original copy of the lien claim is usually returned the next business day, so there is no need for a Conformed Copy of the recorded lien.

Recording fees are a flat $21.00 for any number of pages. It does not matter whether the pages are Letter size (8-1/2” x 11”) or Legal size (8-1/2” x 14”).

Recorded liens can be viewed on their City Of Virginia Beach Clerk of the Circuit Court website through a paid subscription to their website.

Same day Electronic Filing of construction liens in Virginia Beach is available through TRADITION NOTICE SERVICES.

Recording Liens in Travis County, Texas

Recording Liens in Travis County, Texas:

Travis County is the home of the city of Austin, state capitol of Texas, and Texas has a long history of marching to the beat of its own drummer. So it’s not surprising that the process of recording of Lien Affidavits would have its own nuances. Following are a few of the highlights.

If you are sending regular First Class mail, you would use their P.O. Box (P.O. Box 149325, Austin, TX 78714). However USPS Express or Priority Mail should go directly to their street address (5501 Airport Boulevard, Austin, TX 78751.) These take priority and are recorded the same day received.

Fees are comparable to many other Texas counties: $16.00 for the first page & $3.00 for each additional page. Be sure there is at least a 3″ margin at the bottom of the last page, or an extra fee of $4.00 applies.

There are no requirements for the “legal property description”.

They do not do Conformed Copies, but will send you a Certified Copy for an extra fee of $6.00 for the first page, and $1.00 for each additional page. On the bright side, the entire Lien Affidavit can be viewed and printed from their website within about 3-5 days of recording.

If you would like to have your lien recorded in a matter of hours, Tradition Software can E-FILE your Lien Affidavit for just $25.00 plus the county’s recording fees. Just send us a PDF of your notarized lien and we can submit it for you.

Recording a Lien in Dallas County, TX

Recording a Lien in Dallas County, TX:

In Texas, the claim of lien document is called a “Lien Affidavit”. The Dallas County Clerk usually records them within 2-3 days of receipt; however Lien Affidavits sent by overnight shipping (e.g. FedEx Overnight) are processed the same day received.

Recording fees are $16.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page. It does not matter whether the pages are Letter size (8-1/2″ x 11″) or Legal size (8-1/2″ x 14″). Be sure to include the street address of the property and the Subdivision, Lot, and Block numbers.

Lien Affidavits can be viewed on their website and the original documents will be returned within 5-7 days of recording. Conformed Copies are free if you include an extra copy of the lien and a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Recording a Mechanic’s Lien in Williams County, ND

Recording a Mechanic’s Lien in Williams County, ND:

The fees for recording a Mechanic’s Lien are $10.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page. Checks are made out to WILLIAMS COUNTY RECORDER. If you would like certified copies please include the fees of $5.00 for the first page and $2.00 for each additional page in conjunction with your self-addressed stamped envelope.

The actual recording takes 1-2 days, but unfortunately the document cannot be viewed on their website for another 4-6 weeks. Your original notice will be mailed back in 5-8 weeks. Please note that Williams County Recorder has a different mailing address from their walk-in address.

Recording a Mechanic’s Lien in Cook County, IL

You will want to make sure that you have your documents correct and ready to file when you record a Mechanic’s Lien in Cook County, IL. The recording time takes 4-6 weeks, and even though they have website viewing and will do conformed copies for free, they both take an additional 4-6 weeks after recording. The fee for recording is $32.00 for the first 4 pages and $1.00 for each additional page. These fees are for standard size paper as they do not accept legal size documents. Checks are made payable to COOK COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS. Notice must include the street address of the property and Permanent Index Number (PIN) as well as the complete property discription off county clerk website.

If you are able to go in person between the hours of 8:00AM and 5:00PM they will record on the spot. Their address is 118 North Clark Street, Room 120, Chicago, IL 60602-1304.

Recording a Mechanics Lien in San Bernardino County, CA

Recording a Mechanics Lien in San Bernardino County, CA is a relatively straight forward process. The charge is $18.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page of a lien. It takes 3 weeks for the Mechanics Lien to be recorded, but indexing information can be viewed on their website 2 days after the lien has been recorded. Be sure to include and extra copy, a self addressed stamped envelope, and an additional $6.00 for a conformed copy. (The fee was updated in July.) Checks are made payable to COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO RECORDER.

Recording a Claim of Lien in Madison County, IL is done a bit differently than other states as well as neighboring counties

Recording a Claim of Lien in Madison County, IL is done a bit differently than other states as well as neighboring counties.

Recording fees are $38.00 for the first 4 pages, and $1.00 per page starting with page 5. They do accept 8-1/2 x 14 legal sized documents for an increased fee of $50.00 for the first 4 pages, and $1.00 per page starting with page 5.

Madison County requires the street address of the property, the Permanent Index Number (PIN,) as well as the complete property description from the deed. Unfortunately, the deed is not visible on their website. Descriptions such as “INGLESYDE LOT 25 40X120” (which can be found on the website) are Maps and Plats, not the full legal property description.

Since the deed is not visible on the website, it is a common practice in this county to request the first page of the deed to be copied and added to the Claim of Lien. Here is what you’ll need to do: Call the County Recorder to get the Document ID number for the most recent deed. Note your request on your cover sheet (e.g. Please copy 1st page of the Quick Claim Deed # 2010R42632 and add to this lien.) Be sure to include an extra $1.00 fee for the photocopy.

Liens are usually recorded within 5-10 days of receipt, and the entire lien document will be visible on their website within 1-2 business days. The county keeps the original document and do not do conformed copies. However, if you include a copy of the lien and a self-addresses-stamped-envelope, they will attach a receipt and mail the copy back to you the same day the lien is recorded.

Since a copy of the Recorded Lien must be delivered to the Property Owner within 10 days of recording, be sure to watch their website. As soon as it posts, you can print and mail it to the Owner.

Categories

Tags

Archives