Home » Construction Lien Law » Archive by category "MICHIGAN"

Recording a MI Claim of Mechanic’s Liens in Cheboygan County

A national manufacturer and installer of retail mall and storefront signs asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a MICHIGAN Claim of Lien (Michigan Construction Lien Act § 570.1111) on a strip mall located in Cheboygan, MI within Cheboygan County. According to Wikipedia, the name of the county shares the same origin as that of the Cheboygan River.

General/Prime Contractors and Subcontractors on private Commercial projects can record a MICHIGAN Claim Of Mechanic’s Lien up to ninety (90) days after the last day providing equipment, labor, materials or services for a project. Record at the County Register of Deeds Office where a project was located. Cost to record a lien or release with the Cheboygan County Register of Deeds is a flat $30 fee. The office does accept out of state business checks. Make the check out to REGISTER OF DEEDS. Include a self addressed stamped envelope.

Turn around time to record is same day received. Recorded liens and releases will be returned with one week.

A lawsuit to foreclose on the property must be filed within one (1) year from the date of recording the Claim Of Lien. If the lawsuit is not filed, the, Register Of Deeds can then invalidate the expired Claim Of Lien.

MICHIGAN gets new notices, custom template technology (CTT)

MICHIGAN is a state that means a lot to me. My mother was born and raised in Negaunee, MI in the Upper Peninsula. My parents spent their honeymoon at the famous Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island after getting married in Negaunee on September 5, 1958. One of the most beautiful golf courses in the world is Arcadia Bluffs Golf Club, located on the northwestern shores of Lake Michigan. I also related to one of the greatest High School Choir directors in MICHIGAN history living as a retiree in Waterford, MI.

Twenty-five (25) MICHIGAN notices were entirely re-written in PreLien2Lien this month. They also have (CTT) Custom Template Technology, enabling each template notice to be customized for a one-time $50 fee.

Like neighboring OHIO and many of the Western US states, Subcontractors do have a required 1st notice to send at the start of a private Commercial or Residential project.  MICHIGAN Construction Lien Act § 570.1109 mandates that a Notice Of Furnishing must be served to all legal parties on a project (Customer, Owner, General Contractor, Lender) within 20 days (Residential) after first furnishing construction related labor, professional services, materials, machinery, fixtures or tools to a jobsite.  In addition to the Notice Of Furnishing, a Proof Of Service Of Notice Of Furnishing should be kept on file as proof that the proper notice was given to all legal parties for the project (Owner, General Contractor, Customer, Lender/Surety) in the event that a Claim Of Lien is recorded.

General/Prime/Sub Contractors (Private Projects):  MICHIGAN Construction Lien Act § 570.1111 mandates that a notarized Claim Of Lien must be recorded within ninety (90) days from the last day of work, or furnishing of supplies for the the improvement on a home building or remodeling project. A copy of the Notice Of Furnishing should be filed along with the Claim of Lien. A recorder’s stamped copy of the Claim of Lien should also be served within fifteen (15) days of filing the Claim Of Lien to all legal parties for the project (Owner, General Contractor, Customer, Lender/Surety).

A lawsuit to foreclose on the property must be filed within one year from the date of recording the Claim of Lien. If the lawsuit is not filed, the, Register of Deeds can then invalidate the expired Claim of Lien.

Categories

Tags

Archives