Home » County Assessors / Clerks / Recorders » Archive by category "San Joaquin County (CA)"

Recording CALIFORNIA Mechanics Liens and Releases to increase by $75 in 2018

Legislators for the state of CALIFORNIA have enacted Senate Bill (SB) 2, Chapter 2.5 of the Statues of 2017 that will in effect increase by $75 the cost to record CALIFORNIA Mechanics Liens and Releases in all fifty-eight (58) counties in CALIFORNIA effective January 1, 2018. This is addition to the Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Trust Fund Fees that range from $3.00 – $10.00 in certain counties PLUS each counties respective recording fees that range from $9.00 – $28.00.

According to Jaime T. Pailma, Division Manager, Document Recording Division for Los Angeles County’s Registrar-Recorder/Clerk’s Office, “….the bill imposes a mandate on County Recorders to charge an additional $75 at the time of recording every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, except those expressly exempted from payment of recording fees, per each transaction per parcel of real property, not to exceed $225.”

The Nevada County Clerk Recorder-Registrar of Voters, Gregory J. Diaz, notes that a waiver of the $75 fee “….shall not be imposed on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer subject to the imposition of a documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier.”

For a listing of CALIFORNIA County Recorders with addresses and phone numbers to contact about the new law and price increase, you can visit our listing by counties at TraditionSoftware.com/county-assessors-clerks-recorders/california/.

Recording a CA Mechanics Lien in San Joaquin County

UPDATED April 25, 2020

A residential home improvement company that installed upgraded windows asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a CALIFORNIA Mechanics Lien on a residence in Stockton, CA within San Joaquin County. The county is the is the northern end of the Central Valley, and was one of the original United States counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood according to Wikipedia.

The San Joaquin County Assessor-Recorder’s Office fees to record are as follows: $97.00 first page , $3.00 each additional page of 8-1/2″ x 11″ paper. Make checks payable to SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY RECORDERS OFFICE and they will accept out-of-state business checks. There is a $1.00 additional charge if you include a conforming copy.

Actual recording by mail is the same day received. You can view indexing information on their website 2-3 business day after recording. The original document will be mailed back around 10-12 days after recording. A conforming copy of the original document can be sent the next business day. Include an additional copy of the notice and an additional self addressed stamped envelope. Indicate if the recording fee paid includes a conforming copy for of $1.

Once a CALIFORNIA Mechanics Lien is recorded, as Claimant you are required to file suit to foreclose on the lien within ninety (90) days from date the CALIFORNIA Mechanics Lien was recorded. This deadline can be extended for up to a total of one (1) year with the consent of all legal parties by filing a CALIFORNIA Notice Of Credit for extension.