Home » Construction Lien Law » Archive by category "ILLINOIS"

Recording a Mechanic’s Lien in Cook County, IL

You will want to make sure that you have your documents correct and ready to file when you record a Mechanic’s Lien in Cook County, IL. The recording time takes 4-6 weeks, and even though they have website viewing and will do conformed copies for free, they both take an additional 4-6 weeks after recording. The fee for recording is $32.00 for the first 4 pages and $1.00 for each additional page. These fees are for standard size paper as they do not accept legal size documents. Checks are made payable to COOK COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS. Notice must include the street address of the property and Permanent Index Number (PIN) as well as the complete property discription off county clerk website.

If you are able to go in person between the hours of 8:00AM and 5:00PM they will record on the spot. Their address is 118 North Clark Street, Room 120, Chicago, IL 60602-1304.

Recording a Claim of Lien in Madison County, IL is done a bit differently than other states as well as neighboring counties

Recording a Claim of Lien in Madison County, IL is done a bit differently than other states as well as neighboring counties.

Recording fees are $38.00 for the first 4 pages, and $1.00 per page starting with page 5. They do accept 8-1/2 x 14 legal sized documents for an increased fee of $50.00 for the first 4 pages, and $1.00 per page starting with page 5.

Madison County requires the street address of the property, the Permanent Index Number (PIN,) as well as the complete property description from the deed. Unfortunately, the deed is not visible on their website. Descriptions such as “INGLESYDE LOT 25 40X120” (which can be found on the website) are Maps and Plats, not the full legal property description.

Since the deed is not visible on the website, it is a common practice in this county to request the first page of the deed to be copied and added to the Claim of Lien. Here is what you’ll need to do: Call the County Recorder to get the Document ID number for the most recent deed. Note your request on your cover sheet (e.g. Please copy 1st page of the Quick Claim Deed # 2010R42632 and add to this lien.) Be sure to include an extra $1.00 fee for the photocopy.

Liens are usually recorded within 5-10 days of receipt, and the entire lien document will be visible on their website within 1-2 business days. The county keeps the original document and do not do conformed copies. However, if you include a copy of the lien and a self-addresses-stamped-envelope, they will attach a receipt and mail the copy back to you the same day the lien is recorded.

Since a copy of the Recorded Lien must be delivered to the Property Owner within 10 days of recording, be sure to watch their website. As soon as it posts, you can print and mail it to the Owner.

Submitting a Claim for Lien in Kane County, Illinois

Submitting a Claim for Lien in Kane County, Illinois

The cost of recording a Claim for Lien is $42.00 for the first 4 pages and $1.00 for each additional page. If the documents are presented on legal size paper there is a non-standard fee which equates to double the total fee and then subtract $30. Checks are made payable to KANE COUNTY RECORDER’S OFFICE and they accept out-of-state business checks.

The recording usually takes place the same day. The original will be mailed back in about 5 business days. Kane County does not do Conforming Copies, but the document can be viewed on their website. Indexing information is available almost immediately and a 2-3 day turn around for the entire document.

Craig Altman, owner of Tradition Software, hails from Kane County and grew up in Batavia, IL.

ILLINOIS gets new notices, custom template technology (CTT)

Several of my posts in this blog refer to my upbringing and early adult life in ILLINOIS before moving to the Silicon Valley area of CALIFORNIA in 1992.  I lived in Elmhurst through 1975, attending Rosevelt Elementary School before it was torn down and became Marjorie Davis Park.  On Thanksgiving day in 1975 my family moved to Batavia, where I graduated from Batavia High School in 1982.  I then earned Bachelors degrees from both Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, IL (Political Science) in 1986 and North Central College in Naperville, IL (Marketing) in 1992.  My parents and a brother and sister all still live in the Fox Valley area of the western suburbs. While I miss ILLINOIS a great deal, especially family and friends that remain there, I can’t imagine not raising my family and growing my business where I live now, in Roseville, CA just north of Sacramento.

Twenty-six (26) ILLINOIS notices were entirely re-written in PreLien2Lien this month. They also have (CTT) Custom Template Technology, enabling each template notice to be customized for a one-time $50 fee.

For residential projects, a 1st notice is required on Residential Projects.  Subcontractors must send by Certified Mail a Notice Of Supplying Labor Or Materials within the first sixty (60) days of providing equipment, labor, materials or services. It is recommended that other legal parties on the project (Customer, General/Prime Contractor, Lender, Owner Agent) also be sent a copy. This notice must be sent prior to a Subcontractor’s Claim For Lien being recorded.

On private Commercial projects Subcontractors still have the option of sending a Notice To Owner. It will improve your chances of being paid on a timely basis, as it notifies all legal parties of your future right to file a Bond Claim, Claim For Lien or Stop Notice in the event you are not paid on a timely basis.

On both private Commercial and Residential projects, a Warning Notice is required prior to recording a Claim For LIen.  A Subcontractor’s Notice Of Intention To File Mechanic’s Lien must be served to all legal parties (Customer, Owner, General Contractor, Lender) within ninety (90) days of last providing equipment, labor, materials or services on a commercial or residential project. It must delivered by Certified Mail or personal service. This notice must be sent prior to a Subcontractor’s Claim For Lien being recorded.

General/Prime Contractors (Private Projects): General/Prime Contractors must file a Original Contractor’s Claim For Lien with the County Recorders Office in the County where the project occurred. It must be filed within four (4) months after the completion of providing labor, rental equipment, or materials. A recorded copy should also be delivered in person or by Certified Mail to the Owner of the property along with any other legal parties related to the improvement of the property (Customer, Lender, Owner Agent).

Subontractors (Private Projects):  Subontractors must file a Subcontractor’s Claim For Lien with the County Recorders Office in the County where the project occurred. It must be filed within four (4) months after the completion of providing labor, rental equipment, or materials. A recorded copy should also be delivered in person or by Certified Mail to the Owner of the property along with any other legal parties related to the improvement of the property (Customer, Lender, General Contractor).

Categories

Tags

Archives