Home » Construction Lien Law » Archive by category "ALABAMA"

Recording a AL Statement of Lien in Winston County

A national manufacturer and installer of retail mall and storefront signs asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a ALABAMA Statement of Lien on a shopping center located in Haleyville, AL within Winston County. According to Wikipedia, Winston County is named in honor of John A. Winston, the fifteenth Governor of Alabama.

ALABAMA Code § 35-11-213 mandates that a notarized ALABAMA Statement Of Lien can be recorded at any time up to four (4) months (Subcontractors) or six (6) months (General/Prime Contractors) after the last day providing equipment, labor, materials or services for a private Commercial project. Record at the County Probate Judge’s office where a project was located. Cost to record a lien with the Winston County Probate Judge is $4 for a 1-page document. The office does accept out of state business checks. Make the check out to PROBATE JUDGE. Include a self addressed stamped envelope.

Turn around time to record is 1-2 business days. Recorded liens and releases will be returned with one week.

Once a ALABAMA Statement of Lien is recorded, as claimant you must initiate a lawsuit to foreclose on the recorded lien within six (6) months from the date the unpaid debt was due.

Recording a AL Statement of Lien in Marion County

A national manufacturer and installer of retail mall and storefront signs asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a ALABAMA Statement of Lien on a shopping center located in Hamilton, AL within Marion County. According to Wikipedia, Marion County is named for county was named for General Francis Marion of South Carolina.

ALABAMA Code § 35-11-213 mandates that a notarized ALABAMA Statement Of Lien can be recorded at any time up to four (4) months (Subcontractors) or six (6) months (General/Prime Contractors) after the last day providing equipment, labor, materials or services for a private Commercial project. Record at the County Probate Judge’s office where a project was located. Cost to record a lien with the Marion County Probate Judge is $3 for a 1-page document. The office does accept out of state business checks. Make the check out to PROBATE JUDGE. Include a self addressed stamped envelope.

Turn around time to record is 2-5 business days. Recorded liens and releases will be returned with one week.

Once a ALABAMA Statement of Lien is recorded, as claimant you must initiate a lawsuit to foreclose on the recorded lien within six (6) months from the date the unpaid debt was due.

Recording a AL Statement of Lien in Jefferson County

A Georgia based subcontractor asked our TRADITION LIEN SERVICE division to record a ALABAMA Statement of Lien in Jefferson County for non-payment on work done within the interior of a medical devices manufacturing facility located in the county seat of Birmingham, AL within Jefferson County. According to Wikipedia, Jefferson County is the highest populated county in state of ALABAMA.

The Probate Court of Jefferson County’s fees to record are as follows: $16 for 1st page. $3 each additional page. (document size 8-1/2″ x 11″). Make checks payable to JUDGE OF PROBATE and they will accept out-of-state business checks.

Actual recording by mail is 1-2 business days. Include a self addressed stamped envelope. The original document will be mailed back 1-2 weeks after recording.

ALABAMA gets new notices, custom template technology (CTT)

I have been to ALABAMA, albeit as a passenger in a car driving on Highway 10 go to/from LOUISIANA for a weekend getaway at an Army friends house. The lure of playing reasonably priced golf on the Robert Jones Golf Trail intrigues me. We aslo have a great group of customers in the state, including AES INDUSTRIES in Talahassee, LEGACY CABINETS in Eastaboga and VOLVO RENTS in Spanish Fort.

Twenty-nine (29) ALABAMA notices were entirely re-written in PreLien2Lien this month. They also have (CTT) Custom Template Technology, enabling each template notice to be customized for a one-time $50 fee.

Subcontractors in ALABAMA must send out a out a 1st notice at the start of a construction improvment.  ALABAMA Code § 35-11-218 mandates that a Notice To Owner (Prior To Performance) must be sent to Owner and Contractor/Subcontractor prior to providing materials. It is also recommended for those Subcontractors providing labor or services. Either a Notice to Owner (Prior To Performance) or a Notice Of Intent To File A Lien Claim must be sent to the Owner and Contractor/Subcontractor before a Statement of Lien may be filed.

General/Prime/Sub Contractors (Private Projects): ALABAMA Code § 35-11-213 mandates that deadlines for filing a Statement of Lien are:

Subcontractors = four (4) months
Laborers = thirty (30) days
General/Prime Contractor = six (6) months

The Circuit Court of the county where the project is located is where a Statement of Lien is filed. Copies should be sent by Certified Mail to the other legal parties on the project (Customer, Owner, Prime/General Contractor, Lender).

Categories

Tags

Archives