Home » 2012 » September

Recording a Construction Lien in Miami-Dade County, Florida

Recording a Construction Lien in Miami-Dade County, Florida:

In Florida, it is optional whether you need to send a Notice of Intent to Lien. It is usually a good idea, and often results in getting you paid. Just be sure you don’t miss the deadline to record the Lien, which is 90 days after you finish a project.

Miami-Dade County has property records on line (https://gisweb.miamidade.gov/PropertySearch/) so it was very easy to look up the Full Legal Description and verify the Property Owner’s name & address.

Heads Up: Florida requires that you furnish a copy of the Recorded Lien within 15 days of the Recordation date. Since it can take up to two weeks for the original Lien document to be returned to you and/or for it to show up on their website, be sure to request a “Certified Copy” of the Lien. Cost is an additional $3.00 & you’ll need to include a self-addressed stamped envelope. They will make a copy of the Lien & return it to you very quickly. Even though Tradition Notice Services is in California, we still had plenty of time to send a copy to the owner before the 15-day deadline.

Following are details for recording in Miami-Dade County: Costs are $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page. They DO NOT accept out-of-state business checks, so send a Cashiers Check or Money Order (payable to Clerk of Courts.) They require the entire Full Legal Description of the property from the website. They normally record Liens (received by mail) within 1-3 business days.

Recording a Construction Lien in Mountrail County, North Dakota

Recording a Construction Lien in Mountrail County, North Dakota:

In ND, it is required that a claimant sends a Notice of Intention to Claim a Construction Lien. Formerly, this needed to be recorded by the County, but that is no longer required. (The statute was repealed in 2009.) The Notice of Intent must be received at least 10 days prior to the recording of the Lien. The Lien must be recorded within 90 days of last providing equipment, labor, materials or services for the project.

Both Mountrail County and Williams County allow the entire Recorded Lien document to be viewed on their websites.

Following are the details for recording in Mountrail County: Costs are $10.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page. Make the check payable to Mountrail County Recorder. (They accept out-of-state business checks.) They require the entire Full Legal Description of the property from the deed.

They do not do Conformed Copies of the lien claim, however, they have a pretty quick turn-around process: Liens are recorded within a week of receipt, and are then posted on their website within a week after that. The original copy of the Lien will be returned within 2-4 weeks, but you can always print the claim from their website.

The deadline to file suit to foreclose on the property is three years from the date the Lien was recorded.

Categories

Tags

Archives