Home » 2012 » January

New California Laws To Go Into Effect On July 1, 2012

The State of California has passed some new laws regarding construction notices. Confusion exists as to the effective date of these new laws. Previous laws relating to verbiage on Mechanic’s Liens went into effect on 1/1/11, so there is a misunderstanding that the new laws went into effect on 1/1/12. They will not start until 7/1/12.

Most of the changes are minor and intended to standardize and simplify the California lien laws into a new subdivision–Civil Codes §§ 8100-8118. Additionally, Code §§ 8120-8138 requires new waiver and release forms to be created/used.

Since we are on top of this, PreLien2Lien will have a free upgrade available to annual subscribers with these changes in June 2012.

Future blog postings will address in detail the additional changes coming up.

Recording Mechanic’s Liens By Mail In Los Angeles County

Those unable to personally deliver Mechanic’s Liens to the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder’s Office may be surprised by the long turn-around-time. Currently, it takes 4-6 weeks from the time the Lien is received until it is recorded. Additionally, it takes another 4-6 weeks for them to mail the original paperwork back to you, and neither the Lien document nor the Indexing Information are available on the web.

On the bright side, a Conforming Copy of the original document can be sent to you within 2 weeks after recordation. Conforming Copies are non-certified copies on a lien that have all of the indexing information: Document number, date & time of recording, etc. There is no extra fee if you include an additional copy of the notice and an additional Self Addressed Stamped Envelope. Be sure to indicate that you are requesting a Conforming Copy.

For more information about all California County Recorders, click here.

Once a CALIFORNIA Mechanics Lien is recorded, as Claimant you are required to file suit to foreclose on the lien within ninety (90) days from date the CALIFORNIA Mechanics Lien was recorded. This deadline can be extended for up to a total of one (1) year with the consent of all legal parties by filing a CALIFORNIA Notice Of Credit for extension.